Volume XVI

Cornerstones in the Oklahoma Territories

by Robert T. Shipe

This Volume, which was published in 2010 by the Oklahoma Lodge of Research, is a comprehensive enumeration of the 113 cornerstones laid by the Grand Lodge of Indian Territory from 1875 to 1908 and by the Grand Lodge of Oklahoma Territory from 1893 to 1908.


  • Territorial Influence on Oklahoma Freemasonry
    • The case for an Introspective View
    • The First Lodges
    • The Civil War Impact
    • The Re-Birth of the First Lodges
    • The Eastern Star Factor
    • Lawlessness Influence on the Territory
    • Territorial Land Runs Influences on Masonry
    • Impact of the Railroads
    • Grand Lodge Leadership
  • Cornerstone Ceremonies in Indian Territory
    • Muskogee, Vinita, McAlester, Okmulgee, Atoka, So. Canadian, Tahlequah, Fairland, Hartshorne, Eufaula, Chelsea, Rush Springs, Nowata, Sallisaw, Davis, Durant, Lebanon, Wagoner, Wynnewood, Ardmore, Marietta, Sulphur, Henryetta, Lehigh, Sapulpa, Ravia, Haileyville, Afton, Broken Arrow, Bennington, Stigler, Checotah, Claremore, Mannsville, Tulsa, Indianola, Stonewall, Hugo, Purcell, Ada, Pauls Valley, Haskell, Porum, Coweta, Goodland, Wann, Fort Towson, Miami, Garvin, Ryan.
  • Cornerstone Ceremonies in Oklahoma Territory
    • Oklahoma City, Mulhall, Perry, Ponca City, Kingfisher, Newkirk, Burnett, Enid, Alva, Pawnee, Billings, Guthrie, Edmond, Weatherford, Shawnee, Lawton, Elk City, Hobart, Helena, Agra, El Reno, Tonkawa, Mangum, Watonga, Cleveland, Chandler, Anadarko, Shattuck, Waurika, Verden.

Volume XVI is available for purchase from the Oklahoma Lodge of Research’s “Traveling” Masonic Bookstore.